Edinburgh World Heritage - Find out more about coach drivers in the Canongate

 

Find out more about coach drivers in the Canongate

There is a distinctive carving at the foot of the memorial of a coach and horses crossing a bridge.  As the inscription explains, "This stone is for the society of Coachdrivers In the Canongate It was chiefly erected by Thomas Jamieson and Robert Maving, treasurer, 1734-65".   Several members of the Coachdrivers Society are interred near this memorial.

The drivers operated the Edinburgh to London route from White Horse Close, at the foot of the Canongate. In 1754 it took coaches ten days in summer and twelve days in winter to make the journey of about 400 miles from Edinburgh to London.

‹ Back to Map

 
Property Owner?

Get information on grants, read the property owners guide and access useful links.

City Visitor?

Explore the highlights of the World Heritage Site, follow walking trails and find out the stories behind Edinburgh's streets and buildings.

Teacher?

Visit our learning site to download lesson plans, browse resources and find out about our schools programme.


 

© Edinburgh World Heritage. All rights reserved. Terms and Conditions | Cookie Policy
5 Bakehouse Close, 146 Canongate, Edinburgh EH8 8DD. T: 0131 220 7720. E: info@ewht.org.uk
Registered in Scotland No.195077. Scottish charity No. SC037183

 

Website by Urwin Digital